“FIFTY IS THE NEW FAIL!” (By Which I Mean, “I’m Sorry About Your Birthday!”)

3 thoughts on ““FIFTY IS THE NEW FAIL!” (By Which I Mean, “I’m Sorry About Your Birthday!”)

  1. Sondra Sneed says:

    This is too close to the ‘possible’ truth to be funny. 🙂 At least to me at 47. Maybe you need a little boost of confidence, a pep talk. How about this….

    You are the only one who knows you are fifty. You are the only one who knows what you planned to have done by now. You are the only one who is going to judge what you should have done by now and you are the only one who cares. That said, you are the only one who can shrug-off that terrible feeling of not being good enough, or strong enough, or pretty enough. Only you can make yourself into a new image that will remove the shackles of expectation. You are the only one who can say, “oh brother, if I knew then what I know now, I would have given myself another 10 years or so to have done what I thought I was supposed to have done by 50. Little did I know I wouldn’t care as much as I used to. Little did I know I would stop so often and smell the flowers along the way. Little did I know I would linger in the things I enjoy, more than the things I thought I wanted to be. If I had known how much I love to sit and stare at a wall and do nothing at all, I would have calculated that in, and been able to give myself more room to do those things.” You are the only one who can forgive yourself for being something other than what you predicted so many years ago. Remember, you were made to be exactly the way you are, because you have a purpose that is bigger than you, stronger than you, and more important than what you can imagine by comparing yourself to anyone else who exists on this planet. You are perfect exactly the way you are.

  2. Judy says:

    OK – I laughed so hard I think I woke up the neighbors. (54 y.o.) All my bathing suits have that little skirt. (snort) How many purses? (snigger/snort) Yeah, life is tough… hahaha

  3. Judy says:

    Oh, and by the way, it’s a volvo S40, but I was too tired to write that last time, since I forgot to take my vitamins and fish oil supplements. Judy

Leave a Reply

